LEFT OF DAYTON

David’s “Truck Art” project | August 23, 2007

hurwitz-truck-2.jpghurwitz-truck-1.jpg

My friend David Hurwitz is capable of some pretty far out thinking, and,this is one example…he wants to turn the small pickup truck he uses to give away free books into an art piece..

Friends,
i have turned my pickup into a moving canvas and I need your help. There is still a lot of space to use and I am soliciting help, suggestions, and some various objects: (BUT I want to retain veto options, so please don’t be offended if i don’t use an idea) The work so far has been done by the Wightman/chase family (Ann, Peter,
Sarah, & Jarrod), Donna’s son Forrest, and myself. But this is a continuing effort.

I ran out of corks for the doors so I need more. I also want to
use bottle caps in an area, so if you have a bunch, please save them
for me. The toys on the hood are in a reverse spiral. Donna would like to put a series of rubber snakes in the space between the toys, spiraling out with one snakes tail in the mouth of the previous one. We need rubber snakes. The areas around the two back windows (there is a small etch-a-sketch on each side) and above the front wheel wells on both sides are still open for ideas. On the passenger side of the pickup bed I have shells framing the bumper stickers. Its not done, but I plan to eventually have shells up to where the cab begins. What should I put around the stickers on the drivers side?
More shells? How about under the etch-a-sketches on both sides? There is also space on the roof and on the hood.
Put your creative caps on and let me know what you come up with. I’m not in a hurry so take your time and lets make a great piece of art!

You can contact him with your ideas and junk {art?} for the truck at

david hurwitz <david.hurwitz@wright.edu>


3 Comments »

  1. Wow, i think i took a bunch of pix of this truck at the Blues Festival! Or is there another one like it around?

    I really don’t have any suggestions, just words of encouragment…. to keep on doing it, and tell Mr Hurwitz I am a fan of his truck and his free book giveaways!

    Comment by Jeff — August 24, 2007 @ 1:31 am

  2. Jeff,
    Send then=m to me and I will post them!!

    Comment by leftofdayton — August 24, 2007 @ 1:56 am

  3. Sure, but what’s yr email address? Maybe I can just post them at Daytonology and you can copy them?

    (BTW, im not sure this is the same truck after looking at the pix and comparing to the ones one yr post)

    Comment by Jeff — August 26, 2007 @ 9:18 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

61 Y/O VIET VET WORKING FROM THE LEFT OF CENTER

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

